Serving Western Massachusetts for 60 years

Award Winners

The Valley Press Club awards a Lifetime Achievement Award to retired journalist or communication professional in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the whole media industry and to the residents of western Massachusetts. Their dedication and commitment to their profession is an inspiration to many. 

The following video tributes speak for themselves!

2005  Durham Caldwell

2006  Robert McClellan

2007  Jack O'Neil

2008  Keith Silver

2009  Barbara Bernard

2010 Vinny D'Addario
2017 Ray Hershel

“I don't think a tough question is disrespectful.”
Helen Thomas

Jean Caldwell passes away

The Valley Press Club regrets to inform the news community that Jean Caldwell, one of the media's stalwarts, passed away on Jan. 19. She was 93. The wife of Press Club Past President Durham Caldwell. A Springfield resident since 1956, a graduate of Passaic, NJ, High School and of Barnard College, Mayor Charles Ryan appointed her to the Springfield Human Relations Commission. At age 40, Jean began a 30-year career as correspondent for the Boston Globe with four school-age children still at home. Her coverage of issues at Belchertown State School and Monson State Hospital earned her plaudits from local and state associations for the retarded as well as appointment to a committee which made recommendations on new state programs for the retarded.  The full obituary from The Republican is at this link: